Best Paper Awards

A) Best Paper Awards in International Journals

  1. IEEE Computational Intelligence Society, 2009 - Outstanding Paper Award for the paper:
    M. Mavroforakis, S. Theodoridis “A geometric approach to support vector machine (SVM) classification, IEEE Trans. on Neural Networks, Vol. 17(3), pp.671-683, 2006.
  2. IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award, 2014 for the paper:
    S. Theodoridis, K. Slavakis, I. Yamada, “Adaptive learning in a world of projections: A unified framework for linear and nonlinear regression and classification tasks”, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, Vol. 28(1), pp. 97-123, 2011.


B) Best Paper Awards in International Conferences/Workshops and Conference Competitions

  1. Best Paper award 33rd International Conference on Logic Programming, 2017, for the paper: P. Rondogiannis and I. Symeonidou. "The Intricacies of 3-Valued Extensional Semantics for Higher-Order Logic Programs".
  2. Best student paper award Adam Ji Dou, Vana Kalogeraki, Dimitrios Gunopulos, Taneli Mielikäinen, Ville H. Tuulos, Sean Foley, Curtis Yu: Data Clustering on a Network of Mobile Smartphones. SAINT 2011: 118-127. Best Student Paper Award.
  3. Best Paper Award at the 25th IEEE International Power and Timing Modeling, Optimization and Simulations workshop, 2015 for the paper:
    “Efficient Parallelization of the Discrete Wavelet Transform Algorithm using Memory-oblivious Optimizations”, A.Keliris, V.Dimitsas, O.Kremmyda, D.Gizopoulos, M.Maniatakos.
  4. Best Student Paper Award at the 13th IEEE International Conference on Bioinformatics and BioEngineering, 2013, for the paper:
    S. Katsigiannis, E. Zacharia, D. Maroulis, “Enhancing the Performance of a Microarray Gridding Algorithm via GPU Computing Techniques”.
  5. 10-Year Best Paper Award, at the 29th Int'l Conf. on Very Large Databases (VLDB), 2003, for the paper:

Y. Ioannidis, “Universality of Serial Histograms", Proc. 19th Int’l VLDB Conference, Dublin, Ireland, 1993, pp. 256-267, 1993.

  1. Best paper Award at the International Symposium on Software Testing and Analysis (ISSTA), 2012, for the paper:

K. Li, C.  Reichenbach, C. Csallner and Y. Smaragdakis “Residual Investigation: Predictive and Precise Bug Detection”.

  1. Best Student paper Award at the Real-Time Image and Video Processing Conference, SPIE, 2012, for the paper:

S. Katsigiannis, G. Papaioannou, D. Maroulis, “A contourlet transform based algorithm for real-time video encoding”.

  1. Best Student Paper Award at the Hellenic Conference on Artificial Intelligence 2012 for the paper:

V. Anastassiou, P. Diamantopoulos, S. Vassos and M. Koubarakis. "iThink: A Library for Classical Planning in Video-games".

  1. Best Paper Award, at the 3rd International Conference on Advances in  Satellite and Space (ICASS), 2011, for the paper:

P. Thompson, B. Evans, L. Castenet, M. Bousquet, P. T. Mathiopoulos, “Concepts and technologies for a Terrabit/s Satellite”.

  1. Distinguished Paper Award at ACM International Symposium on Symbolic & Algebraic Computation, 2010, for  the paper:

I.Z. Emiris, B. Mourrain, and  E.P.Tsigaridas  “The DMM bound: multivariate (aggregate) separation bounds.”

  1. Best Scientific Paper Award at 20th International Conference on Pattern Recognition, ICPR, 2010, for the paper:

P. Bouboulis, S. Theodoridis, K. Slavakis “Edge preserving image denoising in Reproducing Kernel Hilbert Spaces”.

  1. Best Student Paper Award at the  2nd Intl. Workshop on Cognitive Information Processing,  CIP, 2010, for the paper:

S. Chouvardas, K. Slavakis, S. Theodoridis “A novel adaptive algorithm for diffusion networks using projections on hyperslabs”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the 3rd International Symposium on Communications, Control and Signal Processing (ISCCSP), 2008, for the paper:

Z. Papadimitriou, P. T. Mathiopoulos, N. C. Sagias and L. Merakos, “On the Weibull distribution with arbitrary correlation”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the Intl. Workshop on Multimedia Metadata Applications (M3A), 2007, for the paper:

T. Perperis, S. Tsekeridou, S. Theodoridis, “An Ontological Approach to Semantic Video Analysis for Violence Identification”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the IEEE Workshop on Multimedia and Signal Processing, 2007, for the paper:

T. Giannakopoulos, A. Pikrakis, S. Theodoridis, “A multiclass audio classification method with respect to violent content in movies using Baeysian networks”.

  1. Best Student Paper Award at the European Conference on Signal Processing (EUSIPCO), 2005, for the paper:

M. Mavroforakis, S. Theodoridis “Support Vector Machine classification through geometry”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the 38th Hawaii International Conference on  System Sciences, HICSS-38, 2005, for the paper:

K. Oikonomou, I. Stavrakakis, “Power Efficiency Analysis for  Topology-Unaware TDMA MAC Policies in Ad-Hoc Networks”.

  1. A. Eleftheriadis, D. Hong, Winners of the ACM Multimedia Open Source Software Competition (for the Flavor language), 2004, in ACM Multimedia 2004 Conference.


  2. Best Paper Award at the 19th ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles (SOSP), 2003, for the paper:

P. Maniatis, M. Roussopoulos, T.J. Giuli, D. S. H. Rosenthal, M. Baker, and Y.  Muliadi, “Preserving Peer Replicas By Rate-Limited Sampled Voting”.
The paper also ranked second at the ACM Research Competition Grand Finals of 2003.

  1. Distinguished Paper Award at the Annual ACM International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation, 2002, for the paper:

A. Dickenstein, I.Z. Emiris  “Multihomogeneous resultant matrices”.

  1. Best Student Paper Award at the 2nd International Workshop on Quality of Future Internet Services (QofIS’2001), 2001, for the paper:

N. Laoutaris, G. Boukeas, I. Stavrakakis, “Design of Optimal Playout Schedulers for Packet Video Receivers”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the 9th European Conference on Information Systems, ECIS, 2001, for the paper:

D. S. Stamoulis, D. Gouscos, P. Georgiadis, D. Martakos “Re-Orienting Information Systems for Customer-Centric Service: The Case of the Greek Ministry of Finance - Case Study”.

  1. Best Paper Award at the International Conference on Information Society in the 21st Century, IS, 2000, for the paper:

J. Veijalainen, A. Tsalgatidou “Electronic Commerce Transactions in a Mobile Computing Environment”.

  1. Best Student Paper Award at the Fifth International Workshop on Mobile Multimedia Communication, 1998, for the paper:

C. Santivanez, I. Stavrakakis, “Achievable Dropping Rates under Variable  Frame TDMA Schemes in the presence of Deadlines Overhead”.