Other Distinctions and Awards

Other Prestigious Awards/Distinctions:

  1. TR35 World's Top Innovators Award, Technology Review, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.A.:
  1. A. Argyris, “For his work in the field of secure optical communications exploiting the properties of chaotic signals for data encryption”, 2006.
  1. NSF Sensational 60 Fellows Award (To celebrate the 60th anniversary of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program, NSF profiled the achievements of 60 NSF fellows, selected from over 45,000 Fellows supported over its 60 year history):
  1. Prof. M. Roussopoulou


  1. HiPEAC Paper Award for participation at the ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA 2013), Tel-Aviv, Israel, June 2013, for the paper:

N. Foutris, D. Gizopoulos, X.Vera, A.GonzalezDeconfigurable Microprocessor Architectures for Silicon Debug Acceleration.”

  1. HiPEAC Paper Award for participation at the 44th ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Microarchitecture (MICRO), 2011, for the paper:

N. Foutris, D. Gizopoulos, M. Psarakis, X. Vera, A. Gonzalez “Accelerating Microprocessor Silicon Validation by Exposing ISA Diversity.”

  1. Business I.T. Excellence Awards, Life Achievement Award:
  1. Prof. P. Georgiadis  “For introducing E-Government in the Greek State”, 2012.
  1. The Editorial Board of the special issue on “Differential and Noncoherent Wireless Communications” of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, September 2005,  ranked the paper:

D. Makrakis, P. T. Mathiopoulos and D. P. Bouras, “Optimal decoding of coded PSK and QA signals in correlated fast fading channels: A combined envelope, multiple differential and coherent detection approach,” IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. COM-42, pp. 63-75, Jan. 1994 as one among the four most important breakthroughs in the area of “Differential and Noncoherent Wireless Communications”.

  1. ΙΕΕΕ Computer Society Golden Core Award (it is awarded for long-standing member service to the society):
  1. Prof. A. Paschalis, 2005.
  2. Prof. D. Gizopoulos, 2001.