Ενεργοί Προπτυχιακού
Διδάσκοντες (ΔΕΠ & ΕΔΙΠ)
Απόφοιτοι Προπτυχιακού
Απόφοιτοι Μεταπτυχιακών
Προσφερόμενα μαθήματα

The Department of Informatics and Telecommunications originated as a cross-departmental undergraduate program between the Departments of Physics and Mathematics in 1986 and it evolved into an independent department in 1989. It belongs to the Faculty of Science of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The Department offers the following programs of study:

  • Undergraduate studies with 2 directions which lead to 6 distinct specializations
  • Graduate studies (M.Sc.)
  • Doctorate (Ph.D.) studies

Owing to the department’s diverse and in technical depth curriculum, its undergraduate, graduate, as well as doctorate students acquire solid scientific background, as well as essential research and practical experience in Informatics and Telecommunications in accordance with the latest industrial needs.

The department also conducts research on most of the offered courses’ subjects and hosts numerous laboratories accessible to the students for hands-on exercises and research.

Notably, the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications has longstanding participation in EU research and development programs. In fact, the department is among the top university departments in Greece in attracting external funding. Additionally, the department belongs in the very top Greek departments in the number of scientific publications in international journals and conferences. Due to the in depth experience of the members of the department in the above programs, the department has been assigned from the University authorities the responsibility of management and/or implementation of large university development programs in the areas of Networks, Libraries, Vocational training, etc.



  • Theoretical Informatics (Division A)
  • Computer Systems and Applications (Division B)
  • Communications and Signal Processing (Division C)



     Former Department Heads

  • 2016-2020: Professor Antonis Paschalis
  • 2012-2016: Professor Ioannis Stavrakakis
  • 2010-2012: Emeritus Professor Panagiotis Georgiadis
  • 2006-2010: Professor Thomas Sfikopoulos
  • 2003-2006: Emeritus Professor Michael Hatzopoulos
  • 2000-2003: Professor Thomas Sfikopoulos
  • 1998-2000: Emeritus Professor George Filokyprou
  • 1996-1998: Emeritus Professor Constantin Halatsis
  • 1994-1996: Emeritus Professor Michael Hatzopoulos
  • 1990-1994: Emeritus Professor George Filokyprou

The Department of Informatics and Telecommunications is a member of Informatics Europe  Informatics Europe logo